ICMR-NITM, Belagavi achieves One Lakh COVID (RT-PCR) testing milestone

ICMR-NITM, Belagavi branch started with testing of 180 samples per day from 23rd April 2020, with the increase in demand for more testing it increased its capacity of testing to 1200 samples per day. Recently the Institute reached One Lakh testing milestone.

To celebrate its rare accomplishment, the Institution organized a webinar to appreciate the contribution to the service by the COVID warriors; scientific, technical and support staff involved in testing. To commemorate this event “Van Mahostava” was organized & medicinal saplings were planted in the campus.

Shri. Amlan Aditya Biswas, Regional Commissioner, appreciated the response from the Director ICMR-NITM and the effort of scientists and staff towards the cause. The scientists & staff actively participated, shared their experiences and happiness for the service rendered. Dr.Banappa S Unger, Scientist-E & Nodal officer welcomed, briefed the activities since inception, recalled support received from all administrators, officials and guidance of experts and thanked them.

ICMR pic 2

He thanked all the staff for their hard work and dedication to the cause. Dr.Harsha Hegde, Scientist-E coordinated the program, appreciated the support of all the staff and presented the vote of thanks. Dr. D. Chattopadhyay appreciated the support from state government and efforts of all the staff for the success.

The online program was held in the presence of Shri. Amlan Aditya Biswas, Regional Commissioner, Belagavi, Shri. M G Hiremath Deputy Commissioner & District Magistrate, Belagavi, Shri. Darshan HV, CEO, Zilla Panchayat, Belagavi, Dr. Shashikant Muniyal, District Health & Family Welfare Officer, Belagavi, Dr. B N Tukkar DSO, Belagavi, Dr. Anil Koragu, DTO, Belagavi, Dr. Vinay Dastikop Director, BIMS, Belagavi, Dr. Kishore G Bhat Prof and Head, Dept. of Microbiology, MM NGH Institute of Dental Sciences and Research Centre, Belagavi, and Dr. Mahantesh Parande, Professor and Head, Dept. of Microbiology, BIMS, Belagavi, were special invitees. Dr. Debprasad Chattopadhyay Scientist-G & Director, ICMR-NITM presided over the function.

Popular Doctors

Related Articles