Winners of the essay competition

Independence Day Greetings from Indian Medical Association Belgaum Branch &

We are highly delighted to announce the much-awaited results of the essay competition conducted on the auspicious occasion of Independence Day. In spite of most of the degree colleges across the state were closed due to covid-19, it was difficult for team to reach out to students. With all these constraints, enthusiasm and positive response for 1st Essay Writing Competition on “Can we prevent 3rd wave of COVID? Role of youth in the endeavor” is encouraging. 105-degree students participated in the competition amongst them overwhelming response came from girl students (84) and 21 boy students sent their essays in an online mode.

The aim of this exercise was to create a reading-writing culture among students and their innovative ideas in containing the covid 3rd wave. We highly appreciate diligent and determined hard work of all participants. It was a tough competition; the contents of the essays are excellent & relevant. Majority of the students have done good research and have shaped the essay in convincing and suggested what best could be done to arrest progress of covid 3rd wave.

On behalf of all the esteemed members of IMA, Belgaum branch, we take this opportunity and congratulate all the participants. Essays were evaluated on yard sticks of content, research, practical suggestion & weightage was for role of youth. Selection process was transparent and best among the best are selected. I also profusely thank Dr. Rajesh Powar, Prof & HOD Plastic Surgery & Vice Principal of J N Medical College, Belagavi for evaluating the selected essays and finally choosing the top three. The winner’s names are mentioned below;

1stRishita Mehta, MBBS 1st YearJ N Medical College, Belagavi. (1st Prize- Sponsored by Dr. Deva Gowda, Shree Ortho & Trauma Centre, Belagavi)
2ndVaishnavi C, BE 8th SemNational Institute of Engineering, Mysore (2nd Prize sponsored by Lake View Hospital, Belagavi)
3rdReema Patil, BE 1st YearAngadi Institute of Technology & Management, Belagavi. (3rd Prize- Sponsored by Dr. Basavaraj Nanjannavar Deesha Physiotherapy Clinic, Belagavi)

Happy Independence Day to one & all

Thanking you,

Dr. Anil Patil Dr. Deva Gowda

IMA President IMA Secretary


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here